Roma, Italia Day 2

Day 2 in Rome was my favorite! Cameron took me to all the big attractions and it was amazing! It really started to sink in how old the city was and the history that stood all around us. We started with a typical Italian breakfast of pastries and we grabbed some fresh juice too! We walked down to Piazza Del Popolo and saw the Twin Churches.

*A funny little salesman tried to give me a rose for “free” and I kept saying no and he kept following me saying it was a gift for the beautiful girl.  Well fine then. I took the rose, smiled and said “grazie” and walked off. He turned to Cameron looking for money and Cam just shrugged and shook his head no.  Meanwhile, I am halfway across the plaza with my “free gift.” The man chased me down snatched his rose back. Rude, you can’t take back a gift! Cameron was dying laughing at me and said he had never seen someone actually take it and not pay. No money. No rose. No creepy stalker guy anymore :)

After the Twin Churches Cameron walked me down some high end streets to look (key word ‘look’) at some beautiful designer stores. We both found our dream cars! (see below) Hardly anyone is on the street mainly because it was early and more likely because of the prices.  All of the sudden some lady bumps into me and keeps walking. “well that was rude.”  Cameron double takes and stops me and says,

“I think that was Jennifer Lopez…”

“Yeah, right. I would know if J Lo bumped into… Ohhmergosh! That is JENNIFER LOPEZ!”

I proceeded to have a minor crazy freak out that probably resembled a petite mal seizure. After, I composed myself and made a plan I casually walked over and struck up a convo with her very French PA. BONJOUR! I asked if I could take a picture with her and he turned me down flat. Not taking no for an answer, I explained how I am an American (like that gives me bonus points or something) and I love all her movies (great now I look like a stalker).  He radioed her very large very tall body guard who came out and talked with us.  He was from Brooklyn and told us that he would be nice and let us take a picture across the street but that the street was too busy for us to stop her and take a picture.  Literally, there are two people on the street with us. So confused and still freaking out, we walked across the street to wait for her to come out. As soon as her car pulled up ninja paparazzi appeared from no where! It was insane but I did snag a photo of my experience! I am now practically famous because J Lo touched my shoulder!

We left star stuck and walked to the Spanish Steps. Not my favorite attraction but still neat.  We rounded a corner and behold the Trevi Fountain! We grabbed lunch and watched how many people tried to jump in the fountain. Pretty entertaining if I do say so myself. We tossed in our coins to promise a return to Italy and were on our way.

Rounding yet another corner and BAM! The Pantheon sat in all its glory! That is seriously one of he most interesting built structures ever. Once the world’s larges unsupported dome, it also is held sacred and respected. They ask for silence while inside although a protest to save the whales was demonstrated outside.

We walked down to the Victor Emmanuel Monument and toured inside. It is HUGE and can be seen from almost anywhere in the city. We didn’t have time today to do the Colosseum tour or the Forum so we decided to come back tomorrow but I had to snap a few pictures! Sadly, most of the Colosseum was under construction, so only a few outside parts were visible.

DSCN4405 DSCN4414 DSCN4423 DSCN4429 DSCN4432

IMG_1685 DSCN4456 DSCN4466 DSCN4477 DSCN4478

IMG_1711 DSCN4487 DSCN4494 DSCN4497 DSCN4498 DSCN4509 DSCN4511 DSCN4526 DSCN4528 IMG_1736 IMG_1741

DSCN4548 IMG_1749

Let me know what you think! xoxo

